冠狀病毒危機迫使許多行業迅速改變其經營方式,其中包括在運營和財務方面面臨挑戰和需求的高等教育部門。

預計全球學生流動性恢複可能需要五年的時間,大學在吸引來自全球主要市場的國際學生方面面臨著艱巨的任務。

QS Quacquarelli Symonds正在進行的一項針對2月建立的潛在國際學生的調查報告的見解表明,57%的大學生前景認為危機影響了他們的出國學習計劃。

“ Covid-19如何影響不同學習水平的潛在國際學生”的調查已吸引了30,000多名受訪者。它旨在更好地了解學生對危機將如何影響他們的決策的反應。

馬來西亞教育部全球服務(EMGS)首席執行官Mohd Radzlan Jalaludin在最近與媒體的一次會談中說,馬來西亞的教育行業也為經濟做出了巨大貢獻。

“到2025年的目標是吸引25萬國際學生,這符合馬來西亞成為全球教育中心的願望。

毫無疑問,國際學生的到來將有助于高等教育機構並振興國家經濟。

Radzlan表示:“馬來西亞已經成為一個有吸引力的學習目的地,它也可以抓住這場危機帶來的新機遇。對于初學者來說,我們已經進入了高等教育的十大選擇之列。”下一階段的增長。

Radzlan于1月新任命,以出色的企業家身份建立了良好的業務往來和業務往來記錄。

他獲得了法學(榮譽)學士學位,並在馬來西亞國際伊斯蘭大學攻讀伊斯蘭教法法律實踐文憑。然後,他于2007年被任命為律師。從那時起,他在莎阿南(Shah Alam)自己的律師事務所執業超過13年,專注于訴訟。

拉茲蘭說,負擔能力是吸引國際學生來馬來西亞學習的重要因素。

“根據2019年QS最佳學生城市,吉隆坡是世界第二便宜的學生城市,連續第二年位居第二。與澳大利亞和英國相比,我們的學費和生活費用便宜。

“英語也被大多數大學提供的這種語言廣泛使用。根據EF英孚英語水平指數2019,我們也是亞洲第三熟練的語言。”

由于這種流行病,全球各地的大學紛紛轉向數字平台和工具,這也引發了關于在線學習的好處和陷阱的廣泛辯論。有人認為,與傳統的校園教育相比,在線教育無法提供物有所值的服務。

相同的QS調查還顯示,很大一部分學生對在線學習完全不感興趣,而研究生水平的學生(43%)則更喜歡講授課程,不太可能在線學習。

隨著越來越多的父母擔心孩子們離開家園到外國學習高等教育,一個國家應對大流行的方法及其在Covid-19病例中的統計數據現在將成為學習目的地的一個因素。

“因此,我們非常歡迎政府決定允許在這裏就讀大學的國際學生繼續學習。事實上,EMGS還為所有回國的國際學生向高等教育部(MOHE)起草了標准作業程序建議。”

安全部長高級部長拿督斯裏·伊斯梅爾·薩布裏·雅各布(Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob)在較早的公告中表示,只有在向MOHE注冊以進行驗證後,國際學生才能進入該國,而無需向移民局申請特別通行證。

來自歸類為Covid-19紅色區域的國家/地區的學生必須在其住所下進行14天隔離,並下載MySejahtera應用程序。

來自綠色區域的那些只需要進行Covid-19篩查,而不必在家中隔離14天(應該測試為陰性)。

Radzlan認為,現在EMGS在扮演政府與行業之間的橋梁的角色中起著至關重要的作用。

他承諾發展EMGS,並通過戰略性和一致的品牌推廣以及引入新服務來滿足國際學生的整個生命周期旅程,從而為國際學生和利益相關者創造更多價值。

“我們已經制定了八個關鍵的獨特銷售主張,這些主張將在我們的促銷和提高意識運動中不斷播出。

“事實上,我們最近還舉辦了虛擬教育博覽會,吸引了多達90,000人參加。

“通過這些舉措,我們相信我們可以吸引更多數量和質量的國際學生到我們的國家。”

The coronavirus crisis has forced many industries to rapidly reshape how they do business, including the higher education sector that is facing challenges and demands operationally and financially.

With prediction that it could take five years before global student mobility recovers, universities face a difficult task in attracting new international students from key markets around the world.

Insights from a report of an ongoing QS Quacquarelli Symonds survey on prospective international students established in February stated that 57 per cent of the undergraduate prospects agreed that the crisis had affected their study plans to study abroad.

The survey on “How Covid-19 is impacting prospective international students at different study levels” has attracted more than 30,000 respondents. It aims to better understand students’ responses to how the crisis would impact their decision making.

At a session with the media recently, Education Malaysia Global Services (EMGS) chief executive officer Mohd Radzlan Jalaludin said similarly, the education industry in Malaysia contributes significantly to the economy.

“The target for 2025 is to attract 250,000 international students, in line with Malaysia’s aspiration to be a global education hub. Without a doubt, the presence of international students helps the higher educational institutions and revitalises the nation’s economy.

Despite it all, Radzlan is positive that all is not lost for the country.

“Malaysia, which has become an attractive study destination, can also seize the new opportunities presented from this crisis. For starters, we are already in the Top 10 list in choice for higher education,” said Radzlan, who is set to lead EMGS through the next phase of growth.

Newly appointed in January, Radzlan brings on board a proven track record of building business and engagements as an outstanding entrepreneur.

He received a Bachelor of Law (Hons) and pursued for Diploma in Shariah Legal Practice at International Islamic University Malaysia. He was then called to the bar in 2007. Since then, he practiced for over 13 years under his own law firm in Shah Alam, focusing on litigation.

Radzlan said affordability is a strong factor to attract international students to study in Malaysia.

“Kuala Lumpur is the second most affordable student city in the world for the second year running according to QS Best Student Cities 2019. And our tuition fees and costs of living are cheaper compared with Australia and the United Kingdom.

“English is also widely spoken with most university courses offered in this language. According to EF English Proficiency Index 2019, we are also the third most proficient in Asia.”

The mass move to digital platforms and tools by universities across the globe as a result of the pandemic has also invited extensive debate on the benefits and pitfalls of online learning. Some argue that online education does not offer value for money in comparison to traditional campus education.

The same QS survey also revealed that a significant portion of students would not be interested at all in online learning, with those in postgraduate levels (43 per cent) who prefer taught courses are less likely to want to study online.

With more parents fearing their children leaving homes to study in foreign lands for their tertiary education, a country’s approach in fighting the pandemic and its statistics in Covid-19 cases would now be a factor for study destinations.

“So, we very much welcome the government’s decision to allow international students attending universities here to resume their studies. In fact, EMGS has also drafted the standard operating procedures proposal to the Higher Education Ministry (MOHE) for all returning international students.”

In an announcement earlier, Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that international students would only be allowed in the country after registering with MOHE for verification and not required to apply for a special pass with the Immigration Department.

Students from countries categorised as a Covid-19 red zone must be placed under the 14-day quarantine at their residence and download the MySejahtera application.

Those from green zones only need to be screened for Covid-19, but are not required to be under quarantine for 14 days at home (should they test negative).

Radzlan believed it was more important now for EMGS to play a pivotal role in acting as the bridge between the government and the industry.

He pledged to grow EMGS and create more value to both international students and stakeholders through strategic and consistent branding, as well as introduction of new services to cater for the international students’ entire lifecycle journey.

“We have developed eight key Unique Selling Propositions that will be consistently broadcasted throughout our promotion and awareness creation campaigns.

“In fact, we have also conducted a virtual education fair recently that has attracted as many as 90,000.

“With these initiatives, we believe we can attract a higher number and quality of international students to our country.”